I am the Golola of Motorsport – Ponsiano Lwakataka Roars

Ponsiano Lwakataka says that he is the ‘Golola of Motorsport’ ahead of the forthcoming Kaliro Sugar EMC Rally.

The rally, second on the National Rally Championship, is due March 12-13 and will go through the districts of Iganga and Kaliro, and some parts of Jinja and Bugweri.

Lwakataka comes into the event on top of the leaderboard having won the first event – Rukari Lake Mburo Rally in Mbarara in January.

“I am the Golola of Rally, but I am even better than Golola because he is sometimes beaten, but am always a winner,” said Lwakataka.

He said that he will not face any challenges from the Jinja-based drivers. “They are like rabbits trying to buck at a lion or dog. They are not my class but I give them respect. It’s been 20 years since I started racing, so am never afraid of anyone.

“And I must assure anyone that on the D-day, just wait for fire. I must be on top when the Jinja rally ends.”

Fred Busulwa sits second and followed by Aine Sodo and Edward Kirumira while Mark Lubega is fifth.

By press time, 14 crews had confirmed participation including Jinja’s Kepher Walubi who will be in Lancer Evo X.

The closing date to pick the entry forms from FMU is March 5.

Must Know Ahead of EMC Rally Event

The total distance for the Rally is 296km, 126km of which is competitive.

“We are going for a shorter rally because we will be racing on public roads not enclosed stages whichwe have been known for,” explained Clerc of Course Alfred Mutanda.

“We have been racing in Sugarcanes recently (when in Jinja) but we failed to get permission so we had to think outside the box and had to get the rally further away to the East.”

There will be two stages in Iganga including the Shaban Nkutu stage. There will be three stages in Kaliro, with two of them being repeated.

The rally returns to Kaliro for the first time since the 1970s.

Clerc of Course Mutanda added: “The safety teams have been on the route and have traversed the sections. We have sensitized the general public about what is going on.

“It’s an easy route, we have gone for shorter stages which makes it easy for drivers not to get exhausted. They can rally on ordinary shock absorbers because the roads are smooth.


  1. Kepher Walubi / TBA ~ Lancer Evo x
  2. Nasser Ratib / Sadat Lukwago ~ Toyota fx
  3. Dr Henry Meseruka/ Tibenda Denis ~ Toyota RunX
  4. Hajji Amiri Kavuma / Mustapha Kanakulya ~ Subaru Impreza
  5. Muhammed Bwete/ Kavuma Muhammed ~ Evo 7
  6. Julius Ssemambo/ Diana Nagawa ~ Toyota fx
  7. Ukasha Mugoya/another–Subaru GC8
  8. Hajji Abdul Sempebwa/Ahmed Minjo — Subaru N11
  9. Rajiv.R/Enock Olinga–Vw Pollo
  10. Samuel Watendwa/Stephen Bunya–Toyota Fx
  11. Rashid Makumbi/Yusuf Babu –Subaru Impreza
  12. Ponsiano Lwakataka/Paul Musaazi —Subaru N12B
  13. Fred Busulwa/Joseph Bongole–Subaru N10
  14. John Burrows Lumu/Joseph Lutalo Jnr–Subaru N14

Related posts

Former Wakiso Giants defender joins AS Kigali 


6 off the National Team as Lutalo Trim’s the Crested Cranes


Ochan named KCCA new team captain


Leave a Comment